Spirit of Service Scholarships

The Lake Wylie Rotary Club Foundation annually awards  “Spirit of Service” Scholarships to recognize high school seniors living in the Clover School District who has demonstrated a heart for community service.  To date, the Foundation has awarded $32,500 to help fund the higher education efforts of some of the most service-minded youth in our community.

David Redding and Jimmy Roach with Grayson Janus and Angelica Jeanty
David Redding (Club President 2018-19), Angelica Jeanty (Recipient of $1,000 Spirit of Service Scholarship), Grayson Janus (Recipient of $2,000 Spirit of Service Scholarship), and Jimmy Roach (Clover High School Interact Club’s Faculty Advisor)

For 2020, the top award is cur $2,000.  The “Spirit of Service” scholarship will be awarded to a student who has exemplified exceptional commitment to community service through hours of volunteering and dedication to his or her chosen service organization/purpose.  The student must reside within the Clover School District; however, he or she are not required to attend Clover High School. 

Students can download the application form and instructions here. All applications must be received by March 15, 2020.

Once all nominations are received, the top applicants will be invited to present a short (5-7 minute) information session at the annual Celebration of Service event on April 21, 2020 about their volunteer work and why they chose to commit their time and talents to these efforts.  A selection committee will then make their choice from these finalists.

Past Winners of the Spirit of Service Scholarships are:

2019 – Grayson Janus $2,000
Grace Sain $1,000
Angelica Jeanty $1,000

2018 – Payton Jubenville $2,000
Heidi Hurst $1,000
Ruth Leal $1,000

2017 – Carrington Edward Bearden $2,000
Garrett Erven $2,000
Grace Marie Auten $500
Nicolette Outtrim $500
Talia Maria Jeanty $500
Catherine Grace Miller $500

2016 – Emily George $2,000
Bonita Wyatt $2,000
Andrea Gendalman $500
Arnd Prikker $500
Sean Elder $500
Donavon Frazier $500

2015 – Maggie Ballard – $2,000
Emily Atkinson $2,000
Rachel Capps $500
Billie Gallien $500
Mia Jeanty $500

2014 – Maddie Burrell $2,000
Adam Moore $1,000

2013 – Katherine Elizabeth Stewart $2,000

2012 – Haley Collins $2,000

%d bloggers like this: