Celebration of Service

Each Spring, the Rotary Club of Lake Wylie honors community members that go above and beyond in service to our community. The date for the 2020 Celebration of Service event has yet to be determined, but will likely be in late April or early May in the community room at the Clover School District Community YMCA.

Each year, the event features the finalists for the Spirit of Service Scholarships that the club awards to recognize high school seniors who have demonstrated a heart for community service. Each finalist discusses the service that they have done and its importance in their lives.

The club also announces the winners of its annual Unsung Hero of the Year Award and the club’s Rotarian of the Year Award at the event. The Unsung Hero of the Year Award is presented to a non-Rotarian and should truly take Rotary’s motto of “Service Above Self” and incorporate it in their everyday lives.

The Rotarian of the Year is Awarded to a member of the Rotary Club of Lake Wylie who has demonstrated an outstanding level service to the club and the community.

Both of the community awards are determined by the clubs Nominations Committee which consists of the last three winners of the Rotarian of the Year Award. For more detailed criteria that the nominations committee uses to determine the winners of the award, download the Annual Awards Guidelines/Criteria.

Past Award Winners Include:

Unsung Hero of the Year
2020 – Greg Chacharon
2019 – Eugene McCarthy
2018 – Sheldon Brown
2017 – Stacy Blackmon
2016 – Monique Boekhout
2015 – Lee Rowley
2014 – Mike Purvis
2013 – Sheri Ciurlik

Rotarian of the Year
2020 – Paul Moran
2019 – Amy Strong
2018 – Ed Lindsey
2017 – Mary Sieck
2016 – Chad Bordeaux
2015 – Bob Stigers
2014 – Eddie Lukowski
2013 – Tommy Martin

Educator of the Year
2014 – Frank Falls
2013 – Jimmy Roach

%d bloggers like this: